Teacher with students and tablet

Awards to Celebrate Excellent Educators

As the school year comes to a close, we begin to think back on all this year has brought. In reflecting on your work, it is important to acknowledge your growth and accomplishments. You’ve put in the hard work, and now it’s time to reap the rewards. Here are a few exciting educator awards to celebrate your continued dedication to education:

Penguin Random House Teacher Awards for Literacy
Sponsored by Penguin Random House, in partnership with The Random House Foundation, Inc.

This award recognizes the nation’s most dynamic and resourceful teachers who use their creativity to inspire and successfully instill a love of reading in their students. Educators should demonstrate a love and passion for reading, take risks in presenting books and literature to students in a unique way, make a commitment to helping reluctant readers, and create distinctive programs and activities that support and promote a community of readers.

Deadline: September 1, 2016


Thomson Reuters Outstanding Information Science Teacher Award
Sponsored by Institute for Scientific Information, administered by the Information Science Education Committee

The purpose the award is to recognize the unique teaching contribution of an individual as a teacher of information science. Recipients must be directly engaged in teaching some aspect of information science on a continuing basis, in an academic or a nonacademic setting.

Deadline: August 1, annually


AASA National Superintendent of the Year
Sponsored by AASA–The School Superintendents Association, Aramark, and VALIC

The AASA National Superintendent of the Year program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor, or top leader of a school system in the United States who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated. This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents.

Deadline: August 1, annually


Global Teacher Prize
Sponsored by Varkey Foundation

The Global Teacher Prize is an annual $1 million award from the Varkey Foundation to be given to an innovative and caring teacher who has made an inspirational impact on their students and their community. Teachers must teach or provide educational support to students between the ages of five and 18 in a school setting.

Deadline: October 14, 2016


The TESOL Teacher of the Year Award
Sponsored by National Geographic Learning and Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages International Association

The TESOL Teacher of the Year Award recognizes and honors exceptional English language teachers at the elementary/secondary and postsecondary/adult education levels. Educators are evaluated on their ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn; create a supportive and encouraging learning environment; provide quality language instruction based on well-articulated theory, philosophy, educational research, and best practices; incorporate innovative and effective lesson strategies and evaluation techniques by utilizing new scholarship from TESOL or related fields; demonstrate evidence of positive teacher effect on student learning and positive impact on students and colleagues; participate in continuing professional development; play an active role in the school and community through collaborative relationships; demonstrate involvement in the field (e.g., membership in TESOL or an affiliate); and demonstrate commitment to English language teaching.

Deadline: July 19, 2016


These are just a sampling of the awards available for educators of all kinds. Visit GetEdFunding to find more awards for outstanding educators.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: